American Food

Mount Washington: Nickel Taphouse

If you’re wandering around Mount Washington looking for someplace to grab a good bite to eat in a casual environment, why not try Nickel Taphouse? The newest restaurant by the owner of Birroteca (amazing Italian food and pizza in in Hampden).

The  interior of the restaurant was designed like an old school tavern. It’s beautiful.

Nickel Taphouse

Nickel Taphouse – Photo Credit Baltimore Sun

Inside, the bar area is beautiful, surrounded by lit candles.

Nickel Taphouse Interior

Nickel Taphouse Interior

On a Friday evening me and two friends decided to try Nickel Taphouse after hearing great reviews. My friend ordered a soda and we liked that they served something different than the typical Coke and Pepsi you see at restaurants.

Soda

Soda

As a starter we ordered the sweet and sour cauliflower which was a nice healthier starter. The cauliflower was meaty with a generous helping of the sweet and sour sauce. The dish was cooked perfectly, however I found the sauce a little too sour for my liking.

Sweet and Sour Cauliflower

Sweet and Sour Cauliflower

We also tried the Crispy Brussels. This was possibly the best rendition of the dish I’ve ever had. It was crispy Brussels Sprouts with smoked mayo, pecarino cheese and bacon. This was possibly the highlight of the meal. I don’t normally like brussels sprouts but I loved these.

Crispy Brussels

Crispy Brussels

For my main course, I ordered the Beef on Weck. Primarily because it was the only item in red on the menu so it must be their specialty. The beef was sliced thin and very rare which was perfect. And served on a rye kaiser roll. It came with horseradish on the side which I would have preferred as more of a sauce, but it was still very good.

Beef on Weck

Beef on Weck

My friend ordered the Steak Frites which she said was good, but nothing to write home about.

Steak Frites

Steak Frites

My other friend ordered the Purist burger which she said was good, but there was nothing special about it.

Purist Burger

Purist Burger

We also shared a side of fries and they were some of the best I have ever had. They came with a tarragon aioli for dipping and that was wonderful. The fries a must try if you’re going to the Nickel Taphouse for a meal.

French Fries

French Fries

While we were waiting for our food I saw a waiter walk by with a boozy milkshakes for dessert. I will definitely be back to try that. Check out the full menu here.

The only place where the restaurant faltered was that we felt rushed. Our waitress was knowledgeable and attentive, but we were finished with our meal in just over an hour. They were turning the tables very quickly there.

Looking for a great date night spot in Mount Washington? Consider Nickel Taphouse for upscale American fare in a casual environment.

Nickel Taphouse is located at 1604 Kelly Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21209 and there is street parking as well as valet.

For more drool worthy pictures, follow me on Facebook or Instagram.

Be sure to subscribe to my blog for the latest and greatest.

Looking for a place to eat? Check out Rachel’s Baltimore Restaurant List.

13 replies »

Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.