Cheap Eats

Inner Harbor: Joe Squared

It wasn’t until a few days ago when I was catching up on shows I had DVR’d that I saw the episode of Joe Squared on Diners, Drive-ins & Dives that I remembered how good the pizza is there. It’s square, thin crust and they have tons of crazy toppings which is always fun. With all the different menu options, it’s a great reason to keep coming back for more.

Joe Squared at Powerplant Live

Joe Squared at Power Plant Live

Joe Squared has two locations. One in Power Plant Live and one in Station North. On this particular visit we went to the location near the Inner Harbor because it’s closer to my apartment.

The interior is set up like a regular pizza joint/bar with a nice beer selection and plenty of tables for you to enjoy your food. They have a nice selection of local beers on tap so my friend and I each ordered a drink because few things pair better with pizza than a nice cold beer.

Joe Squared Interior

Joe Squared Interior

We ordered a Caesar Salad to share and it was good, but nothing special. It’s rare that a Caesar Salad has anything special to it but it’s nice to have some veggies with the meal.

Caesar Salad

Caesar Salad

We also shared the Garlic Bread because I really loved that last time I was here. It’s a large piece of french bread topped with a garlic spread and then melted cheese. It is a pretty big portion which was nice because it was so amazing. It came served with marinara sauce for dipping. I personally don’t dip my garlic bread into sauce because then it turns into a deconstructed pizza.

13551558_208438686219286_1302194746_n

Garlic Bread

My friend and I could not decide on the same pizza for the life of us so we each decided to order our own pie and then have leftovers for lunch the next day. This was a brilliant plan. My friend ordered the traditional Cheese Pizza which she loved, to make it a little less boring she topped it with pineapples. The pizza came out piping hot and she loved every bite of it.

Cheese Pizza with Pineapple

Cheese Pizza with Pineapple

I decided to try one of Joe Squared Signature Pizzas. I ordered the Flag Pizza. It was a pizza split into thirds with three different kinds of pizza. The first third was  crushed tomato with mozzarella, provolone, romano, parmigiano and asiago; the second, roasted garlic cream  with mozzarella, cheddar and ricotta; and finally pesto sauce with fresh mozzarella. My favorite was probably the pesto section but I loved the whole thing. The idea of three different pizza’s in one is great and this is definitely something I would order again.

Enlight1-1.jpg

Flag Pizza

Some of their other menu options also looked really good like their wings and risottos. I will definitely be back to try more things.

Joe Squared has two locations, one is 30 Market Place in Power Plant Live. And another location in Station North at 133 W. North Avenue.

Know of any other pizza places or restaurants Downtown or in the surrounding areas that I need to try? Let me know in the comments below!

For more of my deep thoughts and witticisms, follow me on Twitter.

Another great pizza spot in the area is Bagby Pizza Co.

Want to drink and have reliable transportation? Consider Lyft or Uber! (Follow the link for $20 off your first ride)

Looking for a place to eat? Check out Rachel’s Baltimore Restaurant List.
Joe Squared Power Plant Live! on Urbanspoon

6 replies »

Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.